Producers of Châteauneuf du Pape since 1925

The Cellier des Princes's name is coming from the prestigious history of the Princes of Orange.

One of them, Willem 1, aka "The Taciturn", named after his silent character illustrates well the personnality of the CELLIER DES PRINCES winegrowers.

Men who believe that actions speak louder than words. Theses men have written the story of CELLIER DES PRINCES.

In 1925, a group of winegrowers, upholding values of fraternity and solidarity, decided to team up. 11 years later, this visionnary men will be involved in the creation of the 1st AOC in France : CHÂTEAUNEUF-DU-PAPE.

In the 60s, the second generation of winegrowers from CELLIER DES PRINCES anticipated the leisure society and the growth of wine tourism. For that matter, they set up the tasting room of CELLIER DES PRINCES next to the national road 7 (RN7).

Trusted supplier of the most prestigious negociants from Burgundy and Rhône, historically merchants of Châteauneuf-du-Pape, CELLIER DES PRINCES sells them for decades the CHÂTEAUNEUF-DU-PAPE coming from its vineyard.

The exceptionnal quality of the terroirs of CELLIER DES PRINCES brings rare qualities to the CHÂTEAUNEUF-DU-PAPE wines, but also to the COTES DU RHONE, which are valued at prices way beyond the market price. Business is good.

The winegrowers have to deal with a fickle price of CHÂTEAUNEUF-DU-PAPE, but they can't accept such variations for very long. In the early 2000s, the market price was at its lowest. A rebellion starts.

At the General Assembly in 2005, the board is overthrown, the president is removed from his position, a new order is emerging.

After decades in the shadows, during which they produced a prestigious wine not bearing their name, CELLIER DES PRINCES took control of its own destiny.

The winegrowers will produce and sell directly their own bottles of wine under the brand CELLIER DES PRINCES.

In less than 10 years, the sales in bottles of CELLIER DES PRINCES have been multiplied by 6, reaching 96% of the whole production.

United as they were in the early days, the winegrowers of CELLIER DES PRINCES are today proud to have their wines enjoyed throughout the 5 continents and proud to share their values of conviviality and excellence.

A focus on quality and strong investments

As explained above, the winery started a new strategic cycle in 2005. Cellier des Princes totally changed its strategy under the leadership of a new presidency, supported by its new director Pierre Cohen. It has been decided to add value to the production by switching from selling in bulk to selling in bottles. In 6 years, the sales in bottle have gone up from 20% to 96% of the total sales. Today they represent almost 100% of the sales. The second strategic decision was to sell the wines under its own brand "Cellier des Princes". Simultaneously to the success achieved since 2005, the winery continued to invest in the viticulture and in the vinification in order to constantly improve the quality of its wines.

Today, Cellier des Princes has become a reference in Rhône Valley/Châteauneuf du Pape, under its own brand, known for its excellent quality at the best price.

2017 represents a turning point in the history of Cellier des Princes. The winery very often perceived only as the sole and unique cooperative cellar in Châteauneuf du Pape, wants now to be recognized as a major producer of the appellation, and wants to promote the quality of its terroirs and above all the constant progresses achieved since 2005.

It is right after having assessed the exceptionnal potential of the terroirs of Cellier des Princes, tasted the wines and witnessed the high quality level, that Philippe Cambie, renowned consultant, decided to become a consulting partner of Cellier des Princes.

The collaboration with Philippe Cambie, renowned oenologist, specialist of Rhône Valley/Châteauneuf-du-Pape, is the continuation of the qualitative ascent of Cellier des Prince, that lives up to this iconic appellation.

Traditional and modern wines

For the enthusiasts and connoisseurs

Traditionnal methods and modern equipment.

Cellier des Princes makes wines offering the purest expression of each terroir and appellation.

Our best cuvées are matured in oak, burgundy barrels and demi-muids between 10 and 12 months.

We are working on long vatting times and controlled extraction in order to offer silky wines with a wide aromatic range, roundness and a nice length.

Our goal is to appeal to the grand connoisseurs as well as the general public.

has been added to your basket
Total

Producteurs de Châteauneuf du Pape depuis 1925

Le Cellier Des Princes prend son nom de la prestigieuse histoire des Princes d’Orange.

L’un d’eux Guillaume 1er dit « le Taciturne », en raison de son caractère taiseux illustre bien le caractère des Vignerons du CELLIER DES PRINCES.

Des hommes pour qui l’action compte plus que les mots, des vignerons qui ont écrit l’histoire du CELLIER DES PRINCES.

En 1925, un groupe de vignerons convaincu par les valeurs de solidarité et d’entraide s’unit. Onze ans après, ces vignerons visionnaires participeront à la construction de la 1ère appellation de France : CHÂTEAUNEUF-DU-PAPE.

Dans les années 60, la deuxième génération de vignerons du CELLIER DES PRINCES anticipe la société de loisir et le développement de l’oenotourisme pour installer le caveau de dégustation du CELLIER DES PRINCES au bord de la RN7.

Partenaire fidèle des plus belles maisons de ventes rhodaniennes et bourguignonnes historiquement commerçantes de CHÂTEAUNEUF-DU-PAPE, le CELLIER DES PRINCES leur vend pendant des décennies le CHÂTEAUNEUF-DU-PAPE issu de son vignoble.

La qualité exceptionnelle des terroirs du CELLIER DES PRINCES confère aux vins de CHÂTEAUNEUF-DU-PAPE, mais aussi de CÔTES-DU-RHÔNE, des qualités rares qui s’apprécient à des montants bien au-delà des cours du marché. Les affaires sont bonnes.

Capricieux, le cours du CHÂTEAUNEUF-DU-PAPE varie, les vignerons s’en accommodent, mais jusqu’à un certain point. Début des années 2000, les cours sont aux plus bas, une fronde s’organise.

A l’Assemblée Générale de 2005, le Conseil d’administration est renversé, le Président démis, un nouvel ordre fait jour.

Producteur de l’ombre depuis des décennies d’un vin prestigieux qui ne porte pas son nom, le CELLIER DES PRINCES reprend son destin en main.

Les vignerons produiront et vendront directement leurs propres bouteilles à la Marque CELLIER DES PRINCES.

En moins de 10 ans, les ventes de bouteilles du CELLIER DES PRINCES ont été multipliées par six atteignant 96 % de la production totale.

Soudés comme à l’origine, les Vignerons du CELLIER DES PRINCES sont aujourd’hui fiers de faire apprécier leurs vins sur les cinq continents et de pouvoir transmettre leurs valeurs de convivialité et d’excellence.

Une orientation qualitative et de forts investissements

Comme expliqué ci-dessus, la Cave a démarré un nouveau cycle stratégique depuis 2005. Le Cellier des Princes a totalement changé sa stratégie sous l’impulsion d’une nouvelle présidence, appuyée par son directeur Pierre Cohen. Il a été décidé de valoriser la production grâce à une réorientation des ventes du vrac vers la bouteille. En 6 ans, la part des ventes en bouteilles est passée de 20% à 96% et constitue aujourd'hui la quasi-totalité des ventes. La deuxième décision stratégique était de mettre en marché ses vins sous sa propre marque "Cellier des Princes". Parallèlement au succès rencontré depuis 10 ans, la cave n’a cessé d’investir dans la viticulture et dans la vinification afin d’améliorer de façon constante la qualité de ses vins.

Aujourd’hui le Cellier des Princes, sous sa propre marque, est devenue une référence incontournable en Châteauneuf-du-Pape et en Vallée du Rhône, reconnue pour son excellent rapport qualité/prix.

2017 marque un tournant important dans l'histoire du Cellier des Princes. La Cave trop souvent réduite au titre de "seule coopérative de l'appellation Châteauneuf du Pape" souhaite désormais faire reconnaître la qualité de ses vins, la qualité de ses terroirs et surtout les progrès qualitatifs accomplis depuis 2005.

C'est après avoir apprécié le potentiel exceptionnel des terroirs du Cellier des Princes, dégusté les vins et constaté le très bon niveau qualitatif, que Philippe Cambie, consultant de renom, a décidé d'accompagner le Cellier des Princes.

La collaboration avec Philippe Cambie, œnologue réputé spécialiste de la Vallée du Rhône et de Châteauneuf-du-Pape, poursuit l'ascension qualitative du Cellier des Princes à la hauteur d'une appellation icône.

Des vins traditionnels et modernes

Pour les amateurs et les plus avertis

Méthodes traditionnelles et équipement moderne.

Le Cellier des Princes offre des vins proposant l’expression la plus pure de chaque terroir et appellation.

Nos meilleures cuvées sont élevées en fût de chêne, barriques et demi-muids entre 10 et 12 mois.

Nous travaillons sur des cuvaisons longues et une extraction maîtrisée afin de proposer des vins soyeux avec une large palette aromatique, de la rondeur et une belle longueur.

Notre objectif est de satisfaire les plus grands connaisseurs tout comme le grand public.

Vous venez d'ajouter à votre panier
Total